Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
68-69 400 block boat anchor UPDATE

OK I took out the crank and wow thing looked NEW, it was cast though. I just had to share the pic of the piston! I'm not an expert but can I say very little run time! Honestly I cleaned the top and top 2 areas above oil ring THAT's IT...notice though, on the rod there looks to be something hit it.

So I was able to free it up and tapped out the pistons. Damn, cylinders below area where there is surface rust is so nice too.

Any recommendations? Rods will be replaced but should I find another 400 block and use these pistons or go another (try) +.030 so total is +.060. I'm leaning to find a short block and use these pistons.

The guy I bought my 68 from has a Pontiac 400 that's the light blue color looks like OE iron heads the OE 4 barrel intake (air gapish). Its a long block that IS SEIZED, engine is together with chrome valve covers. The guy asked me for 300...Isn't that a bit much for a seized engine? I thought value is more like 150 tops 200.

Before I turn it down on a period correct engine, thought I'd ask experts and before I regret turning it down later.

My plan is to use a LSx but don't want to ignore a period correct engine. I could always use the EFI carb on it.

Thoughts?? What's the cast number I'd look for?

Attachments

·
64-67 Expert
8,561 Posts
I just junked a '67 400 and a '69 428 in the past two years that were not seized but would have needed sleeves. A seized block, unless it's a rare code for your numbers matching car, is scrap iron value the rest of the time. $300 will buy you a decent rebuildable 4oo core that turns, maybe even runs. There's a good running later 400 with the TH400 trans for sale on the other forum for $500. I wouldn't pay $10 for a seized engine....I don't need the scrap money that bad for the labor involved taking it to the recyclers.

·
Registered
296 Posts