Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to this forum and new to restoration so I am hoping someone can help me. I just bought a 68 GTO, metal is in good shape (no panels need replaced), engine fires, if you dump gas in the carb and hook it up to a charger. It has been sitting for 30 years so I am sure the breaks need fixed up, fuel, etc. Where do i start on this baby? I am assuming go through the brakes and fuel first, make sure the engine is in solid shape and then move to the body work? I am trying to keep it as stock as I can. It was the 400 block engine in it with 4 speed tranny. Any suggestions for a newbie would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
26 Posts
bandit:

Welcome to the forums. I am by no means a pro, and I did not do a full body-off restoration, but when I got my '68, this is exactly what I did in order and had success with it:

-Put it up on the lift and removed crummy brake and gas lines, shocks and springs, e-brake cable, exhaust, and anything else that looked bad.
-Sanded the entire underside of the car down to metal. (luckily it was in great shape)
-Wiped clean with a rag and some cleaning solution, and painted it with Eastwood's chassis black paint.
-Removed transmission pan and replaced the fluid and filter.
-Replaced gear-oil.
-Removed front drums and replaced with disc brakes.
-Removed rear drums, cleaned, replaced bad wheel cylinders and painted covers.
-Installed exhaust, SS brake lines, SS gas lines, new E-brake cable, shocks, springs and anything else I took off.
-Replaced all the wheel bearings, ball joints, bushings, pitman & idler arms, and the rest of the front end.

Drives like it is brand new!

·
Former Super Moderator
9,919 Posts