Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My fuel gauge would show 1/2 full to full all the time.

I noticed the ground wire was broke off by the sending unit so I removed the tank and replaced the sending unit.

Now it always is on empty. It is on the E line plus a hair above. (like half on half off the line)

I don't drive the car often so I don't want to put a lot of gas in it.

Originally I put in 2-3 gallons of gas then put in 4 more gallons in it.
From an empty tank 5-7 gallons should show a little more on the gauge correct?

Besides the gauge what else could be wrong?

Any way to test the gauge?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
48 Posts
Im no expert..do a search of the forum on fuel gauge. Any how ive been changing out sending unitis like underwear on my 64. Fortunately on a 64 you can r&r the sending unit without dropping the tank. Anyway i tested resistance with an ohm meter from the tank to the fuse box. Next i unplugged the coupling from the rear harness under the dash just before the fuse box. T tested my new sending unit with jump wires under the dash befor install. In the end it seem my 64 is supposed to want a 0-30 ohm sending unit. They didnt work, after bench testing that they were good with the meter. So i bought a 100 ohm variable resistor for $4 at radio shack. Tested it with jump wires under the dash. My gauge liked that so i bought a 65 sending unit 0-90 ohms and all is well. I guess my gauge was rebuit with a 65 . Any way the point is you can test all day long without putting the unit in or dropping the tank just find the right wires and use a multimeter. Maybe thats obvious to the pros but i figured it out reading posts on the forum and i really appreciate the help.

·
Registered
546 Posts
Have fun! I got tired of screwing with mine and bought an aftermarket fuel gauge and aint looked back!
Also 1970 with a replacement sending unit.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)