Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post on ANY forum. I'm new to GTO's, and I just purchased a 71 and I'm pretty tickled. The first thing I noticed was that the front hood vents don't line up cleanly. (I've removed them and it appears that there is a spacer, maybe stacked washer behind them on the mounting bracket. ) They just don't come up cleanly against the upper hood opening, and that has me bugged. Most of the photo's I've looked at show there IS an up to 1/4 in. space or misalignment there, then others show nice clean lines where the upper edge of the vents meets the hood opening. Do I simply live with it, start sanding the hood, get a life? Any ideas/opinions are greatly appreciated...Thanks, Steve.

·
Registered
3,931 Posts
Welcome Alaska, if they are repro's they are notorious for bad fits, don't know if i would grind the hood, would more likely try to adjust and shim mounts to get an even gap and call it good.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks, they are stock, but I just noticed a small 'tab' hanging down on the hood on one side that holds the entire peice down along it's length. I have decided to VERY carefully remove the offending tab and perhaps 1/64 at a time along the bottom edge...I'll take B-4 and after photo's and post later. Thanks. It's -20 here and I can't even drive it until about May 1st anyway....I got time. THANKS !

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I like your style. I CAN carefully remove a small tab that shouldn't be there and with carefull filing I can improve the fit a bit. Plus shims in the right spot...Too bad I'm not close to 101.....blast up to Petaluma and back. Thanks.

·
Registered
3,931 Posts