Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I am new to classic cars. I ordered a PHS report on this car, and I don't see the hood tach listed. The wiring looks old, and it's not sloppily spliced. Does it not being on the report mean it was added later? Same question regarding the front disc power brakes?

Any help is appreciated!

·
Registered
757 Posts
PHS docs are pretty accurate but not foolproof. However, the Hood Tach was a factory and dealer installed option so it may have been added later. Original hood tachs had a plug.
Disc brakes were not a dealer option but I imagine for enough money they could have been added by the dealer. The 68 would have had dual piston calipers.

Attachments

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thanks! I assume it's aftermarket then along with a bunch of parts on this car, but I suppose that's the way it is if it's been restored. Looking at this pic, it does look different. I was wondering why it would be on an automatic lol.

·
Registered
757 Posts
Hard to tell. I see a plug so thats a good sign. Very clean and almost original engine compartment.
Early December Fremont built car.
If you're looking for originality, the red air cleaner decal Never came on any Pontiac. If you like it, thats cool.
You should replace the positive battery cable though. That battery post clamp is designed for quick repairs and has a tendency to corrode over time causing starting problems.
All the major vendors have the correct cable for about $50.

We need to see more pictures of your car!

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
I ordered mine with a hood tach but the dealer actually cut hole in the hood and installed it. It was also ordered with a RAM AIR IV which it was delivered with but only said RAM AIR on the hood.. I believe the dealer also installed the 8 track or the clock-can't remember which. I was there when it arrived at the dealership-FWIW Paul

·
Registered
4,746 Posts