Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just received my GM rip shifter today and was wondering is it difficult to install or just time consuming?I have 23 years experience and access to hoist and all quality tools.I am trying to see if its a home project,after work,or go to shop on a day off?

·
Registered
387 Posts
I just received my GM rip shifter today and was wondering is it difficult to install or just time consuming?I have 23 years experience and access to hoist and all quality tools.I am trying to see if its a home project,after work,or go to shop on a day off?
Heck, I read this thread simply because I didn't know what "auto tech by trade owners" meant. I'd think you'd do better with a title of "GMM Rip Shifter installation advice", but that's just me.

I'll be investigating the same thing. I am an old shade-tree mechanic, and have 10 years of helicopter repair & and A&P, so I know my way aroud a toolbox. If not too expensive, I'd rather just have a shop install it and work a few hours of OT to pay for it, but my ony concern is finding a shop I can trust to do it right.

Since I have a garage, ramps, jack stands, and a fairly complete set of good tools, I might just do it myself this winter if it doesn't sound too difficult. Heck, after not having turned a wrench ('cept for stuff like alternators, water pumps, etc.) on a car in nearly 20 years, I was even sort of dreading doing my own oil changes. Pfft! Took me all of 20 minutes, if that.

Gerry

·
Registered
273 Posts
I used to be a (mec a nick) have'nt put a gmm on my car yet, but talked to a guy at a meet that did, said it was easy. just have to lower the tail of the trans a bit to get your hands up there. still mite be faster on the lift. he said it took about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. good luck let me know how it go's will be doing mine over winter. post back or PM would be most thankful.

·
Registered
68 Posts