Pontiac GTO Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts
G

·
furgburg said:
I am a newbie here, looking at purchasing an 05. I really would rather have an automatic. How is the performance in an auto vs. a stick. Also how is the milage. Thanx
The manual trans is the performance transmission. The manual transmission is lighter, runs cooler and is more efficient than the automatic. It also, unlike the automatic, provides the driver with full control of gear selection. Now, some GTO ads/reviews claim the automatic provides a better 0-60 time but this is undoubtedly due to driver error, probably those unfamiliar with shifting the T56. Every other ad/review you see for any other car on the market has a manual version always being faster than an auto.

Mileage, of course, is better with the manual tranny, also. Pretty much the only advantage an automatic transmission provides from a performance standpoint is the fact that an auto generally provides more consistent ETs for those into bracket racing but for pure performance due to less weight and heat you cannot beat a manual transmission. Look at what race cars in almost any class of racing besides bracket drag racing use- manuals.

·
Registered
160 Posts
The biggest knock on the M6 is the "driving in traffic" argument.

I drive in TERRIBLE Denver traffic everyday and have not once regretted getting the M6.

The Manual is driving the car - no frustration waiting for the downshift. You are in control.

·
Registered
565 Posts
I will say the tremec in these goats is quite amazing. There really is almost no difference in actuality between the A4 and the M6, other than the obvious one has a clutch and shifter while the other does not. The two really have the exact same speed times its just of course the auto doesn't require the skill in shifting to get a faster time. The gas mileage on the two is really abot the same, except if you're going on long trips... then the M6 manages to come out ahead by 2 or 3 mpg.