Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My vehicle has a 3 speed automatic, I believe the Turbo 400; had it rebuilt about 100,000 miles ago (25 years ago) and now having problems I will try to describe.

Accelerating up to about 30 to 40 MPH it will shift fine throughout all 3 gears; however, as I ease off the accelerator to cruising speed, the tranny seems to drop out of gear as if going into neutral. If apply a little acceleration, it will hit 2nd gear then go back into 3rd gear. If I am cruising at about 50 MPH or above, the tranny seems to stay in 3rd gear as it should.

A local tranny shop said $1000 to replace a part but I forgot what that part was. I’ve done almost all repairs to this vehicle since ownership in 1979 which included a complete engine rebuild. That said though, a tranny repair may be beyond what I can do. I’m not a mechanic by trade, just a mechanic hobbyist.

Any suggestions? If possible, I would like to try to repair myself and save $1000.

Thank you.

(67 GTO, 400, Auto)

·
Super Moderator
5,789 Posts
When accelerating from a stop using very light throttle, does it shift normally and at low rpm, or does it seem to stay in each gear "longer" than it needs to before up-shifting?

Bear

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
With little throttle (gradual acceleration) it will shift normally; it doesn’t hang in any gear. Just drops out of gear (like in neutral) when I’m no longer accelerating at about 30 40 MPH.

·
Super Moderator
5,789 Posts