Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am already used to my current power level and thinking about upgrading. I curently have a stock bottom ls2 with heads cam lts and intake that puts 476 to the wheels. My problem is that i live in ca and smog is getting tougher and tougher. I have a property in an exempt county that i keep the car registered to but i spent most of the time in the bay area and there is a lot of smog checkpoints lately.
My question is how much power i can make and still be 100% smog legal?
I was thinking of selling my engine and putting a built forced induction one. There is fi kits with carb numbers.
What about the exhaust? Am i limited to only shortie headers and stock cats?
Also i am new to fi but would it pull a lot of timing in hot weather. I love driving the canyons and my favorite route is 30min of twisties (the reason i built it NA, short geared and 3400lbs).
I dont drag or roll race so i will be ok with 600whp (more would be nice though).
And about the budget i would like to stay below 15k.
Would selling my engine and building one for FI be cheaper than building mine?
Thanks for the advice. And car is alrready front heavy and i drive mostly twisties so i don't wanna add too much weight to the front

·
Former Moderator
4,081 Posts