Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I bought the car over month ago with no way to get it home (it had been mostly dissembled). I ended up buying an enclosed trailer off the same guy just so I could get it home. The car is still in the trailer sitting in the yard.

I got a 400 from another guy in need of being rebuilt. I have no way to lift it off the back of my truck.

I spent this past weekend installing a 100 amp service to my garage. From there I hung 5 8' flourscient lights, 3 recepticles, a couple of light switches, and left room for a 20 amp and 30 amp 240 VAC circuits (thinking a welder and air compressor in my future). Everything is encased in 1/2" conduit and I went a bit crazy with the hangers ect (I'm an electrician by trade, but I do controls, not construction).

I pulled the meter base cover and made sure I had enough room to snake the wires through to the panel in the house (I didn't want to punch a hole through the block wall). Now all that is left is running the big wires.

I did power up the panel using the extension cord to make sure I installed everything right and nothing went 'pop' when power was put to it.

So now I am ready to move my car into the garage and assess what needs to be completed next (besides buying a lift to get the engine out of my truck).

:willy:

·
Registered
554 Posts
Dewar's for the masses!

How did you get the engine INTO the back of the truck. Did the PO put it there for you, and if so, maybe he'll let you borrow the hoist (for a fee, perhaps?) I borrowed a hoist from a friend. He didn't want any $$, so I gave him a couple-o-bottles-o-Dewar's! Sometimes, you have to get a little creative! :D (Should fit right in the back with the engine there already).

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
LOL @ hoist. He used a tractor and he lives 40 miles away.

I'll figure something out.