Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
whats up guys, i have a 1970 GTO hardtop and me and my dad have decided to restore this badboy, i have a really simple question. unfortunately im new to the restoration scene and ive noticed alot of you know your stuff.

i just want to know what parts of the car need to be sandblasted and powdercoated. chassis, control arms, the rear differential will most likely be rebuilt, but does it need powdercoating? if ya could, just give me a list of things to be powdered so i can relay this to my dad. thanks!

·
Super Moderator
5,146 Posts
I sandblasted, primed and painted my entire chassis including the control arms and differential. If the cost of powdercoating is not a problem that would be a nice way to go.

·
64-67 Expert
8,569 Posts
No parts on a 1970 GTO NEED to be powdercoated. They never were powdercoated. I agree with the above post, tho'. If it's your thing to powdercoat, and you want to spend the $$$, go for it. Me, I'm not into it.

·
Registered
103 Posts
One thing to keep in mind, if you do powdercoat the rear end, it will most likely need to be empty of fluids and cleaned out. At least that is what they told me when I was thinking about that. I went the paint route and am happy with that choice. On my current project, just sprayed the frame with Eastwood chassis primer and will do the satin black shortly.

·
Premium Member
4,705 Posts
Powder coating requires baking in an oven at about 400-450 degrees. you will need to remove ANYTHING that can't stand heat.

·
Premium Member
258 Posts
I had the following blasted and powdered-
Frame
Transmission crossmember
All rear control arms
and Diff/axle tube

These pieces were fully disassembled with all bearings and bushings removed. My car needed a full tear down and new rear gears, so it was nice to get the powdering in place while it was all apart.