Pontiac GTO Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

To start, I should warn you all that I'm a novice to this whole automotive language and lifestyle. I have very limited time as a medical student but I'm trying this new hobby to restore my Dad's GTO after he passed away. I would appreciate any help and opinions regarding my goat's situation.

Engine in car was sitting in garage hasn't been started in years -- no general maintenance since about a decade ago. Threw a new battery in and started her up. The old carburetor (Holley 650 CFM double pumper) was severely leaking and threads were stripped all over from accelerator pump housings to fuel bowls. I decided to just get a new carb after the rebuild kit and tapping some new threads proved unsuccessful. Under probably not enough time for researching this, I ended up buying a brand new Holley Double Pumper but this one is 600 CFM.

Link for reference: Holley 0-4776S 600 CFM Double Pumper Carburetor
Part # 0-4776S

Looking at the second picture in this link, they show a table with Cubic Inches on y-axis and Max Engine RPM on x-axis. From what my father told me, the engine is a Pontiac 400. (I struggled looking for codes. I found one on the front passenger side: 340469 and I think the engine code is YX. I found another on the back passenger side: 481988 which might be the block casting number.) As for researching max RPMs I pulled my best guestimate out of various forums and google searches to be somewhat under 6000 for my engine/condition. Is this accurate??

More importantly, taking all this information together, will this new carb work well for street performance? Holley's chart recommends this model for 400 cubic inches and 5500 max RPM. I hope I didn't mess up big time and get the wrong carb. Maybe I should take a break studying for 5 min and suck it up to call their tech service for once.