Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased my first GTO. Its a 1968 and I have attached a pic of the ID plate (not sure what its called). I have been able to figure out everything with one exception, the first line reads 06A571. I know the 06A means the care was built the first week of Jun 1968. However, I can not find and reference to the last 3 numbers 571. Can anyone please help me out with deciphering this?

Thanks in advance for any and all your help.

Dean

Attachments

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the help. This is my first time owning a Pontiac and I know nothing about them. With the exception of surface rust where the vinyl top was removed and a garage door was closed on the hood the car is rust free and never been wrecked.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
5,741 Posts
Welcome! It's difficult to tell for sure from the photo, but it appears you've got a functional Ram Air system? If so, and if it's original to the car, you may have something really special there. I'd love to see more photos, especially of the engine compartment and if possible --- the center two exhaust ports on the the cylinder heads.

Bear

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Bear,

I've actually never laid eyes on the car. I'm in the process of moving from AK to the Spokane Wa area and my brother's friend had the car. The car belonged to my brother's friend's nephew who passed away. The car has been setting since 1999. I will actually be flying down to see the car for the first time 2 Dec. I'm pretty excited about the project. I know it has the original engine, but I'm not sure about the transmission. The rear end has been swapped out for a 12 bolt posi. I plan on taking lots of pics of it and I will get some of any block and head markings I can find.

Dean

·
Registered
602 Posts