Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to attempt to convert my 68 GTO CONV. to disc brakes.

looking to see if there is another A-body car I can use to achieve this instead of buying a kit.

there is lots of salvage yards in the area where I live, so why not use them.

what im looking for is a simple way to take brake parts off a car that will bolt up on my 68. Is there any vehicle out there that is a basic unbolt, bolt on car?

or do i have to mixmatch parts to accomplish this?

has anyone done a salvage yard conversion?

thanks for the help, i know that this topic has most likely been discussed on here before but im not good with searching forums ha. thanks again.

·
Banned
1,496 Posts
You can do it junkyard style and you have to get the spindles and add a booster to your master.

Here is a thread that answers some of your questions.
Also if you have 14" rims you have to make sure they are compatible.
I have 15" Rally IIs and just bought the conversion kit from Summit, all new stuff including the spindles and master I didn't want to waste a bunch of time screwing around at Pick A Part getting parts and rebuilding them.

http://www.gtoforum.com/f50/68-disc-brake-conversion-30389/index2.html

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/sum-bk1201/overview/

·
Registered
6 Posts
We just did a front disc/dual master cyl conversion on a 64. We ended up purchasing a kit from a reputable co.. ( after trying to mix/match new parts that supposedly would work)Even then we had some customizing to do, on a supposed bolt on appl. . It was no surprise or problem, ( just time) my point is=time vs headache vs $. you may want to ponder. Good luck w/ conv. My customer really like shis.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
who has the best bang for your buck when it comes down to a new bolt on system? also when you get a system does it come with everything you need? or is there the "things they dont tell you, you need"?

·