Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got my first dyno on a dynojet for a baseline run with 3200 miles on the clock. Pretty disappointed, got 329 max HP and 324 max TQ on two back to back runs. The third was worse, but by that time the motor was pretty heat soaked. Ambient temp was 95 degrees, and it was running pretty rich above 5000 rpm, but I still think the numbers are on the low side. The guys at the dyno shop said they had dynoed three other GTOs and all were in the 340 range, but during cooler temps. Since I have owned the car, I knew it was not a factory freak and it has kind of felt down on power since I started playing a little. Did the proper 500 mile break in and even changed the oil at the 1000 mile point and then again at 3000. Changed the plugs awhile back and the plug in the left bank (driver side) cylinder just one up from the firewall keeps getting the porcelain black after only a week. All other cylinder's plugs are crystal clear so I may have a problem with either an injector or possibly a ring that never got seated. I'll post the graph as soon as I can get it scanned. I think I'll take it to the dealer and have them scan the computer and investigate the one cylinder.

·
Registered
937 Posts
I have no interst in perusing Mustang message boards, but if anyone has or wants to, I would be interested in knowing the Dyno numbers off the 05. Specifically posts where the owner referenced high ambient temps and humidity. The RWHP shouldnt be more than 235 all things being equal. I am interested in thier loss due to temp.

·
Registered
3,445 Posts
JMVorbeck said:
I have no interst in perusing Mustang message boards, but if anyone has or wants to, I would be interested in knowing the Dyno numbers off the 05. Specifically posts where the owner referenced high ambient temps and humidity. The RWHP shouldnt be more than 235 all things being equal. I am interested in thier loss due to temp.