Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,

I have a '65 GTO with a 455, 48 heads, and a '65 tri-power manifold. I run 100% race gas.

I'm new to the mechanical arts, but trying to learn.

Friday I changed the oil (20W-50 + 1 qt Marvel Mystery Oil), belts, spark plugs (ACDelco R43S gapped at 0.035), and ran a can of Sea Foam spray through the center carburetor. I took the car out after this, and no problems. Tonight, halfway through the drive, when I punched it and hit 3,800 - 4,000 RPMs, the engine would shudder and come in and out of power. When I say shudder, I mean total power loss then back again. Jerking we forward and then back. From idle to 4K, no problems. At home, I parked and brought the car up in RPM and it shuddered at 4,800 - 5,000 RPM. When I open the hood and toggled the throttle I don't see or hear any problems.

Any ideas? I've owned the car for 1.5 years and had no problems like this. All sorts of other problems, but nothing like this.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply.

The fuel filter is about 1 year old. The fuel pump, I have no idea. I will try to disconnect the line from the carburetor and route to a can. Crank the engine and see if it pumps fuel into the can.

I just did another test drive, and the engine stops at 4K. It's like there's a rev limiter / governor. Really strange. I did a visual inspection of my MSD box, 6AL, part nr. 6420. It has a rev limiter at 6K. I can't imagine this box going bad.

In your experience, do fuel pumps give out 1/2 way like that? One day, no problems below 4K, but above that, they can't keep up?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Fuel tank vent tube cleaned, fuel pump tested, tri-power linkage tested, new fuel filter and hoses installed. All good.