Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks, I'm new, great place!!! I recently got into a 1964 GTO project, looking to build a pretty stock GTO, but with a 421... I picked up a date code correct 64 421HO block, with tripower, crank and forged rods. Im new to pontiac, so I need some help with the rods... I understand the early forged were ok, but except for the SD 421, the heat treatment was suspect, and aftermarket rods are better.. Problem is, these rod are unmarked, except for a GM on the beam. They reportedly came out of the 64 421 I have. Can anyone give me an idea of what they are, when made, and if they are ok for a stock rebuild, 5000 RPM motor?
Thank you in advance!!!
IMG_3989.jpg
IMG_3989.jpg

·
Registered
5,108 Posts

The rods don't have a part number. The 1958-'62 are low rockwell. The SD rods were better and had 7/16" bolts. No mention of the '63-65 forged rods with regards to Rockwell.

Would I use them? No. Spend the money and get new aftermarket rods with the better tensile strength and 7/16" rod bolts. You can sleep at night knowing they are not old and could fail. You will also want forged pistons. Should be no problem spinning the engine to near 6,000 RPM's with the right cam, 5,600 RPM's is a better number if you want to be really safe. 5,000 RPM's is for old lady's and 2 Bbl carbs with single exhaust - not 421HO engines. (y)

The most important thing with the larger main journal cranks/engines is the oiling system and bearing clearances. I suggest the Butler Pro 60PSI oil pump that will flow more oil, a good quality aftermarket oil pump pushrod (I am using the one from Nitemare Performance - but Butler has them as well and cheaper), and the 3/4 groove main bearings - which I am using in my 455 build, and the Best brand graphite rear main rope seal. Use a quality filter like Wix or the Napa Gold - which I am told is made by Wix.