Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any one running freeze 12 refrigerant? I put some in a Vette I used to own with good results. Thinking now of running it in my '66 GTO. I have heard a few concerns about it, and also heard a few say it was great. I don't want to convert to 134a if I don't have too.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Most like R-12 which was replaced with R-134a which is now used modern cars. R-12 was taken off the market due to the depleteion of the ozone layer. It is still available on the market however, you must be licensed to buy it and R-12 is extremely expensive 1 pound of the stuff runs about $30-$50 a few years back. Also it's very hard to find as well. You are better off switching your system over to a 134a with a retro kit.

Lucas:shutme

·
Registered
51 Posts
Sometimes you might get lucky, I've been a mechanic for 5-6 years and found 8 containers of R-12 (16 oz cans) for $1 each at a garage sale 10 years ago. Of course I bought every one of them and still have them today

Lucas:shutme

·
Registered
400 Posts
Yes, in AZ you can bet I've heard of Freeze-12. I've talked to about 5 or 6 people who have done the switchout, and have heard nothing but praises. It's a very viable alternative to R-12. R-134 requires higher pressure and subsequently causes problems on retro-kitted cars if the kit isn't specialized for the car. R-12 Condensers aren't sufficent for R-134, so any kit that has you use a stock condenser, will only give you headaches later on.

·
Registered
2,627 Posts