Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gas is crazy high and I was curious does anyone ever use 87 or 89 rathe then premioum? I actually pumped in 87 couple days ago just to see how it goes and I hope nothign is going to happen to the goat!

·
Registered
227 Posts
I've never used 87 gas before, always 91 or higher octane. Now that I have it programmed w/ the superchips handheld I have no choice but to use 91 octane or higher. I think you will just have reduced performance if you put in 87 since it retards the engine timing to prevent knocking. I'm sure someone else will chime in here on the matter.

·
Registered
476 Posts
From what I understand, it depends how it is phrased in the owners manual. "Premium Recommended" means that you can safely use 87 with just reduced peformance. If it says "Premium Required", then you may risk engine damage as in a turbo charged car. just my .02

·
Super Moderator
8,430 Posts
This is out of the Get to know your GTO literature that came with the car.

Premium unleaded fuel with an octane
rating of 91 or higher is recommended
for best performance. Using regular or
middle-grade fuel of 87 octane or higher
is permissible, but the vehicle’s acceleration
may be slightly reduced. If fuel
with an octane rating of less than 87 is
used, you may hear a heavy knocking
noise that can damage your engine. In
this instance, you should fill the fuel tank
with higher-octane fuel as soon as
possible.
After fueling, ensure that the gas cap
is installed correctly and tightly. If it
is loose or missing, the malfunction
indicator lamp will light steadily. If a
loose gas cap is the cause, a few
driving trips after properly tightening
the gas cap should cause the light to
go out. If the light remains on, have
the vehicle serviced.
See Section 5 of your Owner Manual.

·
Registered
1,303 Posts