Pontiac GTO Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
I drive my GTO 90% of the time. When it's snowing, I take my other car.

I don't care what anyone says - the GTO is a pig in the snow. I've lived in Denver all my life and have been driving in snow for some time now. It's prolly no worse than any other high performance car, but I think it's a bad idea to drive it in the snow - for no other reason than all the other idiots out there and the gravel.

As far as other factors, it's quite comfortable and a blast to drive. The ride is very firm, but not annoying. The exhaust note is noticeable to be sure, but also not annoying. I drive an M6 in traffic and fine it to be just fine - not annoying at all.

·
Registered
160 Posts
Pig as in it's all over the road.

Now I'm speaking relatively of course. It's prolly no worse than any other high horsepower RWD car with wide tires.

I'm a very capable snow driver. But, my GTO stays in the garage if it's snowing. I have that luxury.

If I didn't have another car, the GTO would have been a tough sell for me. It's not good in the snow, has a laughably small trunk (this annoys me more and more), bad mileage, and expensive upkeep (expensive tires, premium gas, synthetic oil) and is bad if you're hauling >2 people.

BUT....and there's a HUGE but here...It's sinfully fun to drive.

Don't get me wrong....I LOVE my GTO. But, living in Denver, I don't know if I would have it if I didn't have another car to drive in the snow or for when I need to haul people or things.

·
Registered
65 Posts
100% on the road. Good for everything but wet roads. We don't get much snow here. It drives the rain fine, but I have to play nice or I lose traction in a heartbeat. Keepin it clean every day is a different story. Birds seem to be attracted to the torrid red, and I have taken t o keeping car wash wipes in the glove box.

·
Registered
556 Posts