Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I am new to the forums. I have come here requesting advice. Do you think that this '70 GTO judge is worth a look? I have no previous knowledge of classic GTO's especially judges.

Although, I do have some knowledge restoring other cars, example being mustangs. It appears the owner has some of the original paperwork, which is appealing.

Take a look for yourselves: (you will have to copy and paste to your browser)
1970 GTO JUDGE PROJECT

Tyler

·
Premium Member
662 Posts
Tyler, depending on the distance from you, getting the VIN and ordering the Pontiac Historical Services documents might be a good idea. You would know for sure what the car was when manufactured. Matt

·
Super Moderator
8,430 Posts
This "Judge" was stripped of it's identity. If this is a real Judge the only thing it has is a series of numbers (the VIN) to show for it, this is what you would be purchasing. The rear deck spoiler is missing, and the motor is not correct.

The car has not been running but a "minor" tune up should have it running? How does he know, he hasn't had it running?

You have to ask yourself: The paperwork says it's a Judge but nothing else indicates it is ( I do see some Ram Air parts in the trunk). The asking price IMO is high for the shape its in. The word "Judge" is affixed to the price tag. To restore this to its glory you are going to sink a lot of loot in it. Do I want to spend the money to make this Judged again? Do I just want to fix it up so I can drive it and not worry if its Judge correct? If so, then you have lesser expensive alternatives.

DO NOT rely on the sellers proclamation of paperwork. Get your own PHS.