Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my '65 GTO, purchased from the nephew of the original owner. It is numbers matching, original except for one repaint in 1976, and regular service items. I have owners manual, protect-to-plate, bill of sale etc., and PHS documentation. The original owner kept meticulous service records and receipts. No rust or damage, mint interior, and 89,000 original miles. I'm trying to figure out a value for insurance purposes, and wondered how it would fit in with Hagerty's 1-4 values. I realize a car is only worth what someone will pay, but would like to have a ballpark idea. Any input would be appreciated.
IMG_2272.JPG IMG_2234.JPG IMG_2227.JPG

·
Premium Member
272 Posts
I’m not an expert,insurance and selling are two different numbers, but from what I’ve seen and with the PHS intact, ps-pb ,the good maintenance, all numbers matching, and mint interior, good tires & no rust issues I’d say at least $52k-$55k or less depending if auto tranny and the rear end shape

·
Registered
524 Posts
Is it auto or 4 speed? Maybe you can put up Hagerty's 1-4 values so we don't have to look them up. While it is somewhat original and 89,000 miles...it is not a survivor as it has had a paint. $45,000 is my guess. What's the prize?

·
Registered
129 Posts
Looks like an auto tranny and that hurts the value A LOT. You can insure it for whatever you want (Hagerty naturally gets a bigger premium for the higher the value). Paperwork and provenance helps some, but won't overcome the 2 sp.automatic. My guess is 35-40k if you wanted to sell it.

·
Registered
917 Posts
Rather than guess or get guesses, Have the car appraised.
This with other proper documents ( ie PHS) should be all that is needed to place either a Stated or Agreed value with Hagerty.
IMO a "Survivor will still only be valued on current market trends it only holds a higher value to a select few and sadly that group is dwindling.