Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1967 400/400
450 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm removing the dealer installed air off of my 67/ 400. There's a big ugly bracket on the front passenger side, and it's held on with two head bolts. Can I simply remove them and replace them?

·
Registered
68 Posts
Do you know if they used longer bolts? I'm no expert but I'd play it safe and deduct the thickness of the ugly bracket from the threads with shorter head bolts if the others are shorter.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1967 400/400
450 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Do you know if they used longer bolts? I'm no expert but I'd play it safe and deduct the thickness of the ugly bracket from the threads with shorter head bolts if the others are shorter.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
The bolts are definitely longer, so I would need to compensate for that. My fear is interfering with the torque. I'll take a picture and post it.

·
Registered
70 Posts
I currently have the heads pulled on mine with the same bracket. I'm at work right now but tomorrow I can double check the proper size you will need for the head bolt without the bracket.

·
Registered
1967 400/400
450 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
OMT is right that is a stud bolt
Yes... but doesn't a typical stud bolt have the accessory mounted "on the stud", not beneath the bolt? I want that bracket off, and my question is, can I just remove those bolts and replace them with the correct ones, or will that screw up the head gasket seal?

·
Registered
1967 400/400
450 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I currently have the heads pulled on mine with the same bracket. I'm at work right now but tomorrow I can double check the proper size you will need for the head bolt without the bracket.
Is yours mounted the same way?

·
Premium Member
951 Posts