Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys,
Name's Jarred and I just picked up a 1970 Tempest Custom/LeMans and thought I would join here.

I'm new to ole skewl Pontiac's and have tons of questions that'll need answering in due time.

My car's originally a 6.6 car with a 3-speed auto.
Has a weak 326 in it right now rated at a whopping 250hp.. whoopie! Lol.

In the process of getting a 400 from a 78 T/a with the 2.11 valve heads. I cant seem to find the details about the heads though, casting number is 9791214 54?

So far this purticular engine I'm looking at is hard to get details on.
What do you guys recommend as far as getting around 400+ hp out of a 200hp rated t/a motor/heads?

Here's my car:

Need's a mild restore but its relatively clean despite never being restored.
Traded it for a 96 v6 firebird.

Also, checked the VIN and it seems its called a "Tempest Custom" But I cant seem to figure out what badges they had in '70? It's missing a bunch of badges but I have no clue which.

Thanks in advance, looking forward to building this car. :cheers

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That's a really sharp car, I like the Lemans 6.6 stripes.
Thanks. I probably wont be keeping them though, car needs a paintjob and I hate the color. Definatly not a pontiac color. Lol.

Probably going black or potentially the original blue(color of the seatbelts)
Welcome to the club.

Nice car.
Thanks alot. :)

·
Super Moderator
5,782 Posts
So far this purticular engine I'm looking at is hard to get details on.
What do you guys recommend as far as getting around 400+ hp out of a 200hp rated t/a motor/heads?
Howdy Hot Rod, we're neighbors - sort of. I live in Garland.