Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, n00b here. Sorry to make this my first post, but, that's the way it's gotta' be. I have an '04 Goat and recently got a ticket from a cop on a power trip. I removed the mufflers, and he wrote me a ticket for illegal exhaust, which I am fighting. Is there any chance that anyone on here has a picture of a GTO with stock exhaust resembling the picture below? Car color doesn't matter, or really anything other than whether or not the car has stock exhaust (I'm a photoshop pro ;)). If any of you can help me out, I would really appreciate. Thanks in advance all!

-Matt

·
Registered
154 Posts
Matt said:
I have an '04 Goat and recently got a ticket from a cop on a power trip. I removed the mufflers, and he wrote me a ticket for illegal exhaust, which I am fighting.
Illegal in what way? Emissions? The mufflers won't have anything to do with that. Too loud? Nothing you can do to fight that. If it's too loud, it's too loud. You shouldn't have pissed him off. ;)

·
Registered
210 Posts
Actually, the cops ear is not calibrated... he doesn't have a decible meter implanted in his brain...

city ordnance here is x amount of feet away from the vehicle but it is a hard one for the police to prove, Some other citys use a certain volume but there is no way for the officer to prove his case. Most that are fought will be won.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the pic! I should be able to workout something with that. :)

All it said was "Illegal Exhaust", didn't specify. Yay Colorado police. :rolleyes:

·
Registered
700 Posts