Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Banned
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everybody, Newbie here. I have a 1970 GTO that came without the vin or data plate. I wanted to know if anyone can see from this photo of where the hidden vin on the firewall would be. I was told that it's just to the left of the heater/ac opening, is that true? Thanks..

Attachments

·
Former Moderator
3,523 Posts
Hi Everybody, Newbie here. I have a 1970 GTO that came without the vin or data plate. I wanted to know if anyone can see from this photo of where the hidden vin on the firewall would be. I was told that it's just to the left of the heater/ac opening, is that true? Thanks..
The V.I.N. is located on top of the instrument panel. You can see it thru the windshield. The data plate is under the hood, drivers side firewall. How do you plan on registering it without a v.i.n.?

·
67 Basket Case Restorer
2,717 Posts
Welcome to the forum. IF there is a partial hidden VIN on the firewall it would be in the area around the blower hole on the right side. It would only be the last 6 digits and would NOT indicate if it was a GTO. I should caution you that I think ALL GTO's in 70 came factory with front disc brakes. If that is fact, what you have there isn't a GTO. Like Greengoat said, it will be extremely difficult to get a valid title for a car missing it's VIN tag. You will have to have it inspected by a state trouper and file for a new, state issued VIN tag. Hopefully, you don't have much in it or you can get your money back and get a body with tags.

·
Banned
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4