Pontiac GTO Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, this is my first GTO forum post, be gentle...

I have owned both and LT1 Trans Am and LS1 Trans Am for years, so i am not a newbie to GM. But, 7 years with these cars are making me want to taste whats out there. my dilemma is should i stick to my pattern and go for the 2006 LS2 Goat---->or pull the trigger on a 2006 Lancer Evolution 9?

I know the heat will come, so i have my flame suit on...i searched and nobody seemed to own both (and openly admit it on GTOforums;) ), but i am extremely familiar with Evo's too, being that i help my friends with installs and get to drive the piss out of them.

Just looking for honest, open opinions guys. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
Welcome to a great forum!!:party:
You might want to talk to "GTO DEALER" He has owned both a GTO and a Neon SRT4 (similiar to the Evo)
Most people here would say "Go for the Goat". But look at the name of this forum!
Again, welcome!

·
Registered
2,100 Posts
Welcome. Thanks for stopping by.

Depends on what you want. I will never buy anything other than a RWD V8 for as long as I live. Don't even want an AWD V8. Guess it's because the cars I wanted were stuff like Hemi Chargers, Challengers, Daytonas and SuperBirds when I was kid -- and the fact RWD V8s were the drivetrains in all the forms of motorsports that I was interested in. Call me biased. Whatever.

In the GTO, you're getting a 400hp platform to START with. For a few bucks, you can take the output higher. A lot higher. In the Mitsu, you're getting a car that, to me, doesn't have the upside.

Another point with the GTO is that fact, as a daily driver, it's a great car. Fantastic seats, quality interior. A poor man's M3 or AMG CLK. In the Mitsu, you're basically driving a gussied up low-end sedan. They can put scoops on the outside and doo-dads on the interior -- but when you wipe the lipstick off -- it's still a pig.