Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
http://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/carsforsale/pontiac/gto/332134.html

I'm going to check this car out first thing tomorrow morning. It's in Hemmings so anyone can beat me to it if they want.... My question is the front fenders don't look like GTO fenders but I'm far from an expert. I'm about to do some searching on the board about what to look for but I'd love to get your opinions on pricing assuming the car is solid.

·
Registered
25 Posts
1. The front fenders have the optional cornering lights in them, so that may be what appears a little "different" to you. Not a very common option.

2. The best way to authenticate any GTO is to obtain the car's VIN and contact Pontiac Historical Services (PHS). Last time I heard, $35.00 will definitively document the car's authenticity (number-wise) via a copy of the original accounting invoice that PHS will provide you.

However, this does not guarantee that any "hanky panky" with switched VIN or data plates, rebodied cars, etc. has occurred with a particular vehicle. Get the PHS and look the car over in person, and bring along a friend with GTO knowledge as an extra set of eyes and any reference material you can obtain.

Chris

·
Super Moderator
5,146 Posts
I agree PHS is the best way to verify GTO's if you have a few weeks to wait for the documents. But if you are in a hurry you can verify by collecting numbers from the following areas;

1) Data Plate,
2) the pad under the distributor,
3) behind the number 8 cylinder,
4) the center exhaust ports,
5) top of the heads below the valve covers,
6) manifold,
7)front of engine, just under the passenger head,
8) next to the timing belt cover,
9) The code on the tranny is located on the passenger side, it is a silver tag with the letter code and year.
10) The code on the rear end is stamped on the passenger side front. There will also be GM codes next to the cover.