Pontiac GTO Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
...on my new 2006 impulse blue M6.

In short... learning how to drive a manual when i've been driving nothing but automatics for ~5 years.... is harder than I thought it would be.

I took ~20 minutes tooling around a parking lot just trying to get a feel for it, and i'm still by no means comfortable with it.

Did anybody else on here learn to drive stick with their GTO? How did it go for you?

Other than that.... love the car. I can't wait until I'm comfortable enough with it to really drive it.

·
Registered
168 Posts
Congrats on the car. You'll love her.

I too learned how to drive stick in my Goat. I had driven stick before, but never owned one. I probably had a total of 3 hours in my lifetime driving a stick before I got the Goat.

Maybe for the first 2 months I was really frustrated because I was not able to shift through the gears as smoothly as I should be.:willy: I practiced and practiced and it just wouldn't get better. I avoided any steep hills unless I can clear them with the pedal to the floor, and I dreaded driving in traffic because of the stop and go.

But I eventually got it down, and now am very comfortable. Now all I got to learn is hot to burn out in a stand still. Anyone else care to chime in and tell me the secret??:D

·
Registered
584 Posts
I learned on my dads 95 S10 but that was like driving an Automatic,
got better with my brothers 04 STi
basically learn your clutch, learn where the "sweet spot" is and try to remember it.
Shifting will take a little time, because of the gawdy monstrosity they call a shifter, it'll take a while to get used to
After practicing about 2 weeks to a month you'll get it down bro.
Congrats on the GOAT:cheers
You Got the best colorcombo ever!!!
Welcome to the family:party:

·
Registered
33 Posts