Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have a 1969 GTO and was having no issues operating the doors until I accidentally depressed the lock button on the driver's side door with my elbow while sitting in the car. While this should have not been a big deal, I am now unable to unlock the door, neither from the inside nor the outside, which also means that I can no longer open the driver's side door.

I've tried to pull up on the lock button pretty hard but it won't unlock. I'm afraid of pulling any harder for fear of breaking something. Using the key has also not worked. And with the door closed, I can't get the inside door panel off to get to the inner workings of the door (I think).

Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm a novice at car restorations so I'm hoping someone with more experience will have a trick or two I can try.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
244 Posts
Same thing happened on my 67. The problem was the return spring that returns the strike plate on the inside of the door latch mechanism that is pressed by the outside button broke. I saw that strike plate not returning all the way flush with the inside of the door handle.

Roll down the window and take a long screwdriver and push that strike plate back in position toward the outside of the door. This strike plate will be directly behind the outside button. When you do this, it should allow you to pull up the lock.

·
64-67 Expert
8,569 Posts
What Colorado said. Ecklers has the springs listed under Chevelle parts. Not available anywhere else, though you could rig one up. Need to remove the door panel to get at the lock mechanism. Same thing happened on my '67, both sides.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Yep - happened to me before as well. The sucky part is removing the door panel while you can't open it the door. Once the panel is removed, it just takes a minute until you hit the sweet spot, and it will pop-up.

·
64-67 Expert
8,569 Posts