Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to GTO Forum and I already have a question because is see you guys know what your talking about. I had purchased a 1966 GTO which need a lot of body work. The reason I had purchase this GTO is because the seller told me it was a numbers match GTO. I just found out recently that the motor came out of a 1965 GTO and is not the original motor for the 1966 GTO. I had called the owner because he had lied and told him the motor is not original. He said he had found a 1966 GTO motor in New York and he would get it for me in return for the 1965 motor. By changing the motor to a 1966 GTO Motor, Does that make the car original? I was under the impression that the numbers still would not match, I thought that even if the build date is correct, the other numbers would not match the VIUN number. Could someone shed some light on this issue for me? Thanks Guys::confused

·
Registered
3,931 Posts
Will still not be numbers matching, but numbers correct. Numbers matching is all original drivetrain to the frame and body.

·
Super Moderator
5,146 Posts
Welcome to the forum,

Pontiac used some of the same casting numbers and letter codes for both 65 and 66,

If you find a 66 engine with the correct letter code and date code the car would be date code correct and there is no way to verify if that is the correct engine or not.

Pontiac didn't start recording engines until early 67 when they documented the engine unit number on the build sheet, in mid 67 they added the car's vin number to the front of the block.

What are the numbers on the block, intake and exhaust? Have you ordered a PHS packet to see which engine the car was born with?

·
Premium Member
633 Posts