Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The question is do I take it to a professional to install, but I really don't have the money. How hard would it be to install with the help of a few mechanic buddies. I just don't want to screw it up, but I don't really have the money to have someone do it for me. What are your thoughts? Thanks

·
Registered
2,632 Posts
Do your mechanic buddies have any expertise in the area of MVAC? I'm a licensed HVAC/MVAC tech and I don't like the where the comperssor is mounted in these cars. You have to drain the cooling system and remove the radiator hose and heater hoses to get to the compressor and get it out. If you have any fears or doubts about installing it, I'd really suggest that you take it to a shop.

·
Registered
3,376 Posts
If you don't have an air pump, gauges and freon, then you can't do it at home, sorry. Also, the wrong oil, or not flushing the system can ruin a new compressor. Better left to an AC mechanic. I do my own, but I have above tools, and I take my chances. You also have to change out the dryer pretty fast so you don't contaminate the new dessicant.

·
Premium Member
4,162 Posts
You can install it yourself, I would suggest have a pro do it, they will have to do everything anyway. But to charge, pull, ect you have to have a pro do that. They would have to, pull whatever out of it, pull a vac on the system, charge it with refrigerant and add correct amout of PAG oil for the system. They will also have to replace the filter dryer and the TVX nossle.

I would install it, I'm used to working on 20,000lbs moble AC units. Automotive units are childs play.

·
Registered
2,632 Posts
GM4life, I havent had any problems with the AC since I've had the car so I really haven't explored the system. Do these cars have a dryer and expansion valve (you said TVX, I believe you meant TXV) or do they have an accululator and orifice tube?

·
Premium Member
4,162 Posts