Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My project is located in Fairbanks, Alaska.
The 'tear-down' is complete, all major structural and drivetrain components are rebuilt and preparations are being made for reconstruction.
I have never done a project like this before and I have many questions.
Please consider yourself invited to participate in advising me as I proceed.

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Disc Brake Conversion

What are the pros/cons of converting this GTO's drum brake system to modern discs?
Are some disc brake systems better suited for installation in heavy old muscle cars like this?
Can you recommend a manufacturer of a disc brake system that might work well for a car like this?

·
Registered
73 Posts
There are really several ways to go. If improvement in handling and braking is in order, then new lower control arms and an installation of later model spindles and discs is a good way to go. Global West and Hotchkis both make kits for this option. If only discs are your choice, check out Right Stuff, they have conversion kits in different levels. Personally I think discs in the front are all that is really needed. The front brakes do 70-80% of the braking. Rebuilding of the rear stock brakes with premium components should provide all the stopping power you'll need unless you into a road racing type of usage. But discs up front is a really good idea.

·
Super Moderator
5,741 Posts
Wilwood has several good systems. A plus is that they also make caliper mounting brackets for the front that don't require you to change spindles. When you order their "kits", just specify that your car has drum brake spindles.

Be aware also that most aftermarket disc conversions will require you to pay attention to your wheels. The Wilwood system I have on my 69 won't clear 14" wheels, or even 15" wheels with more than 4.25" of back spacing.

Bear

·
Registered
727 Posts