Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for some good ideas on how to protect the engine and chassis after the body is set in place and the paint starts to fly. Engine/Trans has complete rebuild and sitting in the mounts. Chassis is completely gone thru with fresh powdercoat finish. I dont want any overspray getting on anything. What do you guys recommend. This is my first attempt at a frame off and I want to do it as professional as possible. I'm only a couple weeks out from joining the body to the chassis. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
4,703 Posts
Wrap it all in plastic wrap. Cut it away when finished. There is also some liquid that body shops use, I don't know the name, it goes on liquid, hardens "grease like" .....after paint you hose it off and it turns to soap suds....Eric:cheers

·
64-67 Expert
8,561 Posts
What Eric said. I've used a light coat of LP-3 (an oil used to keep machines from rusting) or Vaseline on already-painted parts or bare metal I didn't want oversprayed. The stuff cleans right off with simple green or good detergent without harming the finish, and overspray won't stick to it.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Some good ideas guys. I have heard of people using plastic wrap(from the kitchen type) and just wrap the frame with that. Might use a few good rolls of it but who cares. Or I could go to Home Depot and buy plastic wrap on a 3 Ft roll too?? As a side note on the Simple Green product. The U.S. Air Force did extensive testing on that product and would not approve its use on aircraft or aircraft components due to its corrosive properties. I use it in the basement and garage but only on areas that I know I can get 100 percent cleanup. Not around nooks and crannies. Just a FYI on that.

·
Registered
1,217 Posts