Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting started fitting the front end back together. Have a slight issue where it looks like in order to get the front fender to line up with the front of the body I need to have it about 1-2 inches higher at the front cross member. I looked at the diagram in my restoration book and can't see anthing obvious I am missing, but am wondering about the way the front cross member mounts to the frame. I picked up new bushings and have those installed but again, seems a bit too low. Here are some pics showing my work in progress. Any ideas would be appreciated. I am assuming I could make a spacer under the bushing but don't want to go down that route until I triple check I am not missing something obvious. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
4,703 Posts
You need to raise the radiator support. There should be rubber bushings between the chassis rail and the support, where the bolt goes through....shim as necessary with washers.....Eric

·
Premium Member
362 Posts
Your missing radiator support bushings. Kits can easily be found at places like opgi and Ames. Should cost about $30 (ballpark).

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hard to see from those pictures, but I have the bushings installed. I have the two bushings sandwiched around the radiator suport but it "feels" like I should have something else underneath the bushing as the support is just barely above the frame. Happy to shim between the bottom bushing and the frame, just was curious if there was a block or something I am missing here. Thanks for the tips!

·
Registered
310 Posts
Looks in the photos car is on a lift with no support on the frt suspension to even out the load. If you can put wheels on car and put back on ground and see what you have then. Could just be the nose is saging from no load support to frt end of car being on a lift.
Good luck

·
Registered
103 Posts