Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
400 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I *CAN'T* fill my tank up. Try as I might, the pump shuts off and I can see the fuel just below the filler, but my gauge reports I'm only at ¾ of a tank and it seems to be getting worse. When I first bought the car, I noticed I could only get it to 7/8ths, but now it's stopping at ¾. Is there a TSB on this or does anyone have any ideas? Thanks!

·
Registered
498 Posts
Have you been using the same pump or same gas station? It sounds like the vapor recovery systems on the pump and car are fighting each other. I'm not an expert on this, but it does sound like a vapor recovery problem. Anyone else chime in on this one?

·
Registered
95 Posts
There is a fuel calibration that has to be programmed into the cluster to indicate the fuel capacity and fuel sender resistance. Odds are it has the wrong calibration. I'd take it to the dealer and have them fix it.

·
Super Moderator
5,146 Posts
Justice said:
I *CAN'T* fill my tank up. Try as I might, the pump shuts off and I can see the fuel just below the filler, but my gauge reports I'm only at ¾ of a tank and it seems to be getting worse. When I first bought the car, I noticed I could only get it to 7/8ths, but now it's stopping at ¾. Is there a TSB on this or does anyone have any ideas? Thanks!
Make : PONTIAC Model : GTO Year : 2004
Manufacturer : GENERAL MOTORS CORP.
Service Bulletin Num : 050849003 Date of Bulletin: JAN 01, 2005
NHTSA Item Number: 10013486
Component: ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING
Summary:
SPEEDOMETER ERRATIC MOVEMENT FUEL GAUGE DOES NOT GO TO FULL AFTER FILLING ENGINE COOLANT TEMPERATURE GAUGE READS HOT AND COOLANT TEMPERATURE LIGHT ILLUMINATES. *EH

·
Registered
36 Posts