Pontiac GTO Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been collecting some workshop books on the Gen III/IV V8's, and I'm still learning, coming from the world of Swedish turbo cars (Saab -- made in Trollhattan, Sweden, so Goats and Trolls. There's a theme there somewhere!).

LS1/LS6 I'm gathering are Gen III, but what makes the LS2 Gen IV -- what differences are there -- what makes an LS2 an LS2, and what makes an LS1 an LS1?

I suspect that the LS6 was iron block 6 liter only, whereas the LS2 is simply the LS6 with an aluminum block? Or am I way off base here?

Thanks, guys.

Jim Miller

'06 GTO, M6, 18", Phantom Black, just a hair under 3 weeks old
'02 Saab 9-5 Aero, Remus exhaust, Forge bypass valve
'97 Saab 900 Talladega Edition, Abbott Motorsports ECU, springs, etc. Selling
'93 Saab 900 Commemorative Edition, JSP Motorsports ECU, springs, much more...
'91 Saab 900 Special Edition, stock

Saabs (Trolls) are fun, but in this case, Goats eat them, not like the fairytale!

·
Registered
109 Posts
GTJimbO said:
So, I've been collecting some workshop books on the Gen III/IV V8's, and I'm still learning, coming from the world of Swedish turbo cars (Saab -- made in Trollhattan, Sweden, so Goats and Trolls. There's a theme there somewhere!).

LS1/LS6 I'm gathering are Gen III, but what makes the LS2 Gen IV -- what differences are there -- what makes an LS2 an LS2, and what makes an LS1 an LS1?

I suspect that the LS6 was iron block 6 liter only, whereas the LS2 is simply the LS6 with an aluminum block? Or am I way off base here?

Thanks, guys.

Jim Miller

'06 GTO, M6, 18", Phantom Black, just a hair under 3 weeks old
'02 Saab 9-5 Aero, Remus exhaust, Forge bypass valve
'97 Saab 900 Talladega Edition, Abbott Motorsports ECU, springs, etc. Selling
'93 Saab 900 Commemorative Edition, JSP Motorsports ECU, springs, much more...
'91 Saab 900 Special Edition, stock