Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello members, I just recently purchased a '67 Lemans, vert, 326, power glide, console / bucket seat car. Car is super solid and straight. I'm new to Pontiacs and my main focus on the car is a good detailing and sorting everything out, then a possible 455/th400 swap. My main questions is what are my main challenges with this potential project regarding: exhaust manifolds/ clearance? Radiator and fan shroud? console shift linkage? And a basket of other challenges I'm sure. I have access to a '70 Bonneville drivetrain that I may consider.

Thanks for accepting me on your form and I'm sure these questions have been answered here before. Thanks to all that send me links to threads and to those that offer input.

Fred

Premium Member
Welcome aboard!
Very clean car and looks like a good start.
Pontiac engines are all the same size and are almost identical from 1955 to 79. The 67 GTO came with the TH400 so most of your questions can be answer as follows; its almost a drop in. You may need to upgrade the radiator, replace the motor mounts, (455s are different) and modify the driveshaft but everything else should be plug and play.

Since you're new to Pontiacs we'll let you in on a little secret. Pontiacs don't have Powerglides. They (and Buick/Olds) have an ST300. It shares very few parts with the Chevrolet Powerglide.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Welcome aboard!
Very clean car and looks like a good start.
Pontiac engines are all the same size and are almost identical from 1955 to 79. The 67 GTO came with the TH400 so most of your questions can be answer as follows; its almost a drop in. You may need to upgrade the radiator, replace the motor mounts, (455s are different) and modify the driveshaft but everything else should be plug and play.