Pontiac GTO Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Guess I should say a little (a lot) about myself...

I love my GTO. I bought it with my own money. I'm a photographer, and I've saved since I was a kid. Anyone else find that the GTO is very solid? You could not shake that car from the outside without help. The inside is so quiet and stable, you don't even know you are sliding until things start going by wrong, and believe me, that has happened.

I drive 23 miles to work every day, along the highway, and almost every other day, someone tries to keep up when I hit the back roads. They start backing off when the road dips a bit, or I get air, either because they have immense body roll (tuned cars, they usually care about suspension last), or they have ground effects that would be ripped to shreds. About the only cars that even attempt it are the WRX STi's that always attempt to race from a roll because they know where their turbo kicks in, but always back off at lights or high speeds.

The new gto does the 0-60 in 4.8. Compare that to the WRX STi's 5.1, and you'll understand how you don't have to "tune" a GTO.
Drag racing is alright, but taking the back roads at 140 without worrying about losing traction is awesome, I can tell you.

I had one with those annoying xenon lights keeping up at a buck twenty on a back road. I hit a small hill in the road that lead to a turn. Got air, everything went quiet, I let off the gas and kept the wheel straight for the turn when I landed. The change in my cupholders "jinked" as the car hit the ground and I pushed it into the turn. Still have yet to see those xenon lights in my mirror.

Didn't know it did so well when I first got it, that's for sure. I was used to doing 35+ over railroad tracks. I hit them at about 20mph my first night and almost got whiplash from high tight the suspension was over the tracks.