Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I a new to the forum and have always loved the looks of the GTO. I spend a lot of time with friends working on early model cars and trucks but I'm new to the world of GTO's.
I own a couple of early model corvettes, and hang out on the corvette forum. My friends give me a hard time because at most car shows I spend most of my time looking at the GTO's. Well I finally pulled the trigger and was high bidder on a 66 convertible. It looks like the GTO is being sold by a dealer that is probably flipping it, so info will be hard to get. He is representing it as a numbers matching car.
I'm not to worried about what to look for as far as rust goes on the body, the car seems to be in pretty good shape, and I can repair whatever I need to.
The drive trane I know nothing about, I need help in identifying matching numbers.
I want to confirm where to look for the block and tranny identification. I am doing as much research as I can but I don't have a lot of time, and if this forum is like the corvette forum I'm sure there is ton of knowledge here.
I will print out VIN Decoding information to take with me.
A few other questions, The GTO has power windows, I am assuming it was an option in 66?
Any suggestions on what else to look for would be appreciated.
I know everyone wants pictures so here is one that came with the add, maybe someone has seen this GTO.
Thanks for your help.
Tim

·
Premium Member
4,703 Posts
Welcome! Yes the 66 GTO was available with power windows. If you have the VIN you should consider contacting Pontiac Historical Services. They will provide you with a packet detailing what you car was ordered and delivered with. The car LOOKS nice! Congrats, Eric:cheers

·
Super Moderator
5,741 Posts
That's a nice looking car, Tim. At least in the photo :D