Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys,

I am new here and I apologize if this topic was already solved (tough I couldn't find my exact problem in the forum).
So to let's start with, I am owner of what looks like to be quite a survivor, a 1966 Pontiac Star Chief Executive 4-Door HT with the 389cu in engine and TH400 transmission.
The car was shipped to me (Poland) from the State of Kansas and has probably original 36k miles on it (I searched back all the previous owners, who happend to be two older women and a man). The interior looks very good (tough the dash pad is multiple times cracked), car had one repaint (recent paint is still on lead basis so I assume the job was done at least in the 80s or earlier) and only two corrsion holes, one in the trunk and right quarter panel. As far I can consider (I am no mechanic) the car seems to be all stock and had even original sparkplugs and wires. So no modifications are noticeable.

Now to get to the problem of mine, the car was a runner since the first start I have made, so there are no start up issues. But the problem occures after warming up and leaving the car idling. At the very first time the idle rpm's sat at 1600 and it was very hard to lower them to ~1350 (lowest possible before stalling). This realted to a higher vacuum and resulted in heavy transmission jerks while putting into D or R gear. That's why I gave the car to a mechanic and he did the following things:

1) disassembly, cleaning and changing gaskets of the carb (two barrel Rochester) it turned out there was a vacuum leak right at the base of the carb, at firewall's side,
2) disassembly, cleaning, repainting of intake manifold + valve covers, replacing gaskets,
3) full fluid flush of engine, transmission, powerbrakes, powersteering and cooling system + chaning filters,
4) replacing spark plugs (AC 45RS put in),
5) disassembly, cleaning and reapainting of fuel tank,