Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats up guys? my name is Nate, and Im new to all car forums. I have a 68 GTO, all original and matching numbers. I want to do some engine work to it, but nothing to serious, as I like it being original for the most part. My question is..........what are some good combinations as far as carb/manifold/headers are concered with these GTO's. I want to make sure I get the right stuff to make my baby the way it should!

Thanks for all the help!

Nate*

·
Premium Member
4,703 Posts
, Welcome Nate! My personal opinion: If the car is all original, I wouldn't go too crazy. Stick with bolt on stuff, so you can go back to stock easily. I would do something like a tri-power set up. A shift kit if it is a TH400. 3.55 rear gears. Some nice redline radials for ride. If you use headers, GO WITH GOOD ONES! ie; Hookers. I don't think you really need headers, unless you are using better flowing heads and a large cam.......Post some Pics and tell us more about the car. I have a 67, and also like the 66. 68 is my 3rd favorite, especially with hideaways.......:cheers

·
Registered
161 Posts
, Welcome Nate! My personal opinion: If the car is all original, I wouldn't go too crazy. Stick with bolt on stuff, so you can go back to stock easily. I would do something like a tri-power set up. A shift kit if it is a TH400. 3.55 rear gears. Some nice redline radials for ride. If you use headers, GO WITH GOOD ONES! ie; Hookers. I don't think you really need headers, unless you are using better flowing heads and a large cam.......Post some Pics and tell us more about the car. I have a 67, and also like the 66. 68 is my 3rd favorite, especially with hideaways.......:cheers
good suggestions there and i would keep the q-jet carb as its the best in my own opinion and get a set of ram air exhausts
oh and welcome aboard

·
Registered
380 Posts