Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all...a newbie here from Oregon. I have located a decent 1970 GTO project car that has been sitting in one spot for at least 10 years without moving. I've talked to the guy a couple of times about selling and he insists he doesn't want to sell, that he intends to fix it up for his daughter, etc. He hasn't given me the opportunity to look under the hood so I don't know what engine it has or other accessories that might have some value.

It doesn't appear to have any severe rust though I'm banking the floorpans and trunk will have a fair amount of cancer since the back seat is filled with old newspapers and phone books just soaking up the moisture. It does have one significant dent on the passenger side quarter panel, about the size of a basketball; it looks like it may have been a pole that got it.

I'm wondering what a fair cash offer might be for such a car. I want to go to him with a fist full of Benjamin Franklins, he might let it go if he sees cash ready to change hands, I don't know. But I want to give it a go...

I tried inserting a photo but I keep getting a scripting error message so the photo should be attached.

Attachments

·
Registered
574 Posts
If he is like most people that have good intentions. It will rust to the ground before he ever seriously attempts anything.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Facn8 is dead on, odds are he will let it rot.
Check out this site, that's dedicated to more like him:
pg47Bowties
Warning: it's depressing as hell.
There are Goats out there with real sellers, you just have to be
patient and diligent in your search.
Best of luck.

·
Registered
3,931 Posts