Pontiac GTO Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new at driving manual, only learned on my 06 GTO. When backing up, I engage the clutch only halfway so I can back up slowly and not at 10 mph. I do the same when I need to go forward slowly as well. My co-worker told me I will be replacing a clutch soon because of this. Is this true?

I'm really self-taught when it comes to driving manual. Didn't know anyone who owned a car with stick.

·
Registered
439 Posts
it's not going to damage anything if you're not really moving any actual power. Slipping the clutch is something that damages it at higher rpm's than idle. How does your co-worker suggest you drive it? Floor it and drop the clutch regardless of situation?

I'd say you're doing just fine. Just as long as you keep the slippage to a minimum at driving rpm's.

·
Registered
388 Posts
Striker222 said:
I'm new at driving manual, only learned on my 06 GTO. When backing up, I engage the clutch only halfway so I can back up slowly and not at 10 mph. I do the same when I need to go forward slowly as well. My co-worker told me I will be replacing a clutch soon because of this. Is this true?

I'm really self-taught when it comes to driving manual. Didn't know anyone who owned a car with stick.
Tell your co-worker to shut the heck up. You should see me trying to pull my M6 into a single-hole garage door on an incline! :rofl: And I've driven sticks for the better part of 30 years. If that's all it took to burn up a clutch, I'd be investing in clutch manufacturers.

You will get used to using less clutch as conditions warrant, just like me. I did the "no guts no glory" move today, and made it in safely with little clutch. It took two Budweisers to calm me down. :cheers

Gerry

·
Registered
224 Posts