Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
125K on gto and there is a hum at 40 mph especially when turning hard right. Noise is there with no load (ie foot off gas and coasting). Changed rear oil and made no difference. I was thinking a rear wheel bearing but those are radial load bearings so I would not think they would not make noise side to side. So.. that leaves the CV's, right?

·
Registered
82 Posts
The side gears are in the differential on the posi unit.
You either rebuild the posi or replace it.
Now might be a good time to upgrade.

GForce might still have some spools left if you want
to get away from the posi.

·
Former Moderator
4,081 Posts
I'd lean more towards the wheel bearings. The diff has slop in the stubs and half shafts and I don't think there is much side loading with it on turns.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I have a subscription to ALLDATA and its pointing to the differential, noise on turns. The wheel bearings are radial loading, not side loading. Inside the carrier are tapered bearings, ie. side loading. Dealer wants $7K for the carrier and I am not sure I want some goober rebuilding my unit. What options and costs do I have?

·
Registered
82 Posts
Aren't dealers great?