Pontiac GTO Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, a while ago I sold my 2003 Mustang GT convertible for a Buick Rendezvous. I graduated college in aerospace engineering (in Daytona Beach) and got stationed at Wright Patterson in Dayton, Ohio. I thought that getting the Buick would be a practical decision that would help me through my new career as an airforce officer...well, it did. But now I REALLY miss having a fun car...I feel like I'm having a quarter-life crisis or something!

I guess I kinda miss the feel of having that Mustang, cruising around in Daytona Beach. It was bright yellow (a big magnet for cops), had lots of mods (I had the car down to 13.6 in the 1/4), and had lots of sunny days and beaches to keep me happy. Now all I have is a confused SUV that often gets mistaken with a minivan. I live in Ohio, and it's cold and wet all the time. I think the Rendezvous...after some time, is starting to get to me :confused because a few days ago, I test drove a Mitsubishi Eclipse and said "Wow...that's fast". The old me would be crying out "What are you doing? This is rice???". But I guess not having a car with a beefy V8 is making me softer.

I have come to my senses, and this weekend I will be test driving a Pontiac GTO. I'm not going to make a purchase right away, I will probably wait until my birthday (June 22nd) to do such a thing. I don't like the new style of the Mustangs, and while they have 300 horsepower they also gained weight (much as I have, sitting in my house all the time in Ohio). Although I loved my mustang, I wish it would handle better. Dodge Charger is nice, but again the handling is just not that good. I think the best option out there (without paying $42k for a corvette) would be a Pontiac GTO.