Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I've finally got the hang of this. I put this thread in the wrong place. Please forgive my redundancy! (I'm new to the car, but to posting threads as well)

One more time:

I've been reading on this forum many members that swear by using synthetic oil but only after break in. I bought a GTO recently and put just 1500 miles on her. This car has the Mobil 1 synthetic oil that all LS2's ship with. Should I change it to a regular oil and then go through the break in process again before switching back to synthetic? If so, which oil should I use and for how many more miles?

Please advise me, many here are well versed in all of this and I'm new to it all. It's my first new car, I don't want to screw it up! Thanks for all your input.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Well, unless I am wrong they don't actually have Mobil 1, they have a synthetic blend... which my service writer told me was slightly different stuff. Of course, I have heard others say that it's just a GM part # for Mobil 1 :willy: So, short answer: I don't know. I know I ran the GM stuff for the first two oil changes (2500 and 5000 respectively) and then switched to real Mobil 1.

·
Super Moderator
8,430 Posts
Keep using Mobil 1.

If the car "needed" regular oil for break-in, regular oil would have been put in it from the git go, followed by an advisory requiring a switch to Mobil 1 afterwards.

If keeping Mobil 1 in the car and not using regular oil would foul something up, then most of us are in trouble.

Besides, I like others leave the dealership change the oil, and if it was necessary to use regular oil then they'd a made the switches and told us why. The owners manual states nothing of this anyway.

·
Premium Member
1,274 Posts