Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, im new to this Pontiac thing, and I was wondering what performance parts are the biggest bang for your buck on these. I mean what parts really help the performance out. I'm not wanting to pull apart the motor and do heads/cam work or anything, but I mean more external parts.

I see the ram air kits for sale for about $1000, but for 20hp, is that a good hp to dollars ratio?

What about intake spacers? carb advice? air filter? headers/header-back? feed me some info :)

·
Registered
3,788 Posts
Open element air cleaner, a nice big one, not a small chrome one because its cheaper. Good set of 2 1/2 dual pipes and free flowing mufflers. If you have an automatic, a shift improver kit will help. Good tune-up, hotter coil, 8mm plug wires. If you still have points, you can get a conversion kit to go electronic -its an easy conversion, but you have to make sure you use a 12 volt power source to hook to the distributor as the factory wire is designed to only allow 8 volts to the points or they will burn up. An open carb spacer is said to help a bit, but you have to have the hood clearance. The factory cast iron intake is your best choice over many of the aftermarket manifolds as they are made for specific RPM's and you may lose a bit on lower end with some of them. I always used the Q-jet, but others may have opinions on other choices for you.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
what brand air cleaner is good? I always like using Amsoil stuff, but would their 4 inch tall filter work on there, or just the 3 inch? How does Amsoil work on them? I see there are different heights, so i guess it's trial and error as far as fitment

Im sure i will have more questions once it gets here. I wouldnt mind doing a full fluid change as well

·
Registered
3,788 Posts