Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
362 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is a question that I have been thinking about lately. I'm new to this whole restoration process but I have seen some people with mystery liquids and tumblers (also with mystery liquids) to clean parts. I have seen various cleaners out there on the market from the likes of Eastwood.

What I'm interested in knowing is what you use to clean your parts. Like internal engine and undercarriage parts and various other parts that have built up with grease and grim along the years.

Also, ...Do the nut and bolt tumblers work as well as they seem to be advertised to work?

Thank you.

·
Registered
221 Posts
I bought a medium sized eastwood vibrating parts cleaner with the green pyramids, and a seperate hopper with crushed walnut shells. Best thing ever for cleaning small parts, I wish I would've got the large one. It removes dirt grease and rust. Just put your parts in, add a little water and let it run all night while you sleep. Then put the parts in the walnut shells for a few hours, and they look brand new. It also cleans plastic and rubber.
Get a can of chemdip to pre-clean the really greasy stuff before they go in the hopper.

·
Super Moderator
5,741 Posts
There's at least as many different ways to do this are there are cars that need restoring. :D Some work better than others, have different costs/time needed, level of results, etc.