Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
RIP (12/27/60-7/18/15)
767 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While rotating the motor trying to find my "click",
I noticed that one of my pushrods has a point in its travel where there is no tension at all. and I am able to lift it up and down between lifter and rocker arm a good 1/16 of an inch or so.
Bad rocker arms?
(I have replaced as new just about everything in this motor)
thanks as always

·
Registered
336 Posts
I have never used Crower before in a car. Motorcyle yes, but car no. What I think you need to do is read the instructions for adjusting your rockers arms again. Start at the beginning and readjust all of your rockers as per instructions.

·
Super Moderator
5,741 Posts
While rotating the motor trying to find my "click",
I noticed that one of my pushrods has a point in its travel where there is no tension at all. and I am able to lift it up and down between lifter and rocker arm a good 1/16 of an inch or so.
Bad rocker arms?
(I have replaced as new just about everything in this motor)
thanks as always
Sounds like adjustment to me too, Top. The "best" way to do it is to follow a procedure Mr. P-Body espouses because that will result in a consistent preload across all 16 lifters. If perchance you've already filled/soaked the lifters in oil, then you'll probably want to use the alternate method.